Flip the Script

Coming out on May 31st, 2022. Click here to pre-order your copy today. 

In this simmering, joyous novel, I’ll Be the One author Lyla Lee delivers a tender romance set between two brave teens who decide that when the script isn’t working, it’s time to rewrite it themselves.

The first rule of watching K-dramas: Never fall in love with the second lead.

As an avid watcher of K-dramas, Hana knows all the tropes to avoid when she finally lands a starring role in a buzzy new drama. And she can totally handle her fake co-star boyfriend, heartthrob Bryan Yoon, who might be falling in love with her. After all, she promised the TV producers a contract romance, and that’s all they’re going to get from her.

But when showrunners bring on a new lead actress to challenge Hana’s role as main love interest—and worse, it’s someone Hana knows all too well—can Hana fight for her position on the show, while falling for her on-screen rival in real life?

PRESS KIT

I’ll Be the One

Out now in paperback, hardcover, e-book, and audio book wherever books are sold!

THE WORLD OF K-POP HAS NEVER MET A STAR LIKE THIS.

Debut author Lyla Lee delivers a deliciously fun, thoughtful rom-com celebrating confidence, bisexuality, and body positivity―perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Julie Murphy.

Skye Shin has heard it all. Fat girls shouldn’t dance. Shouldn’t wear bright colors. Shouldn’t call attention to themselves. But Skye dreams of joining the glittering world of K-Pop, and to do that, she’s about to break all the rules that society, the media, even her own mother, have set for girls like her.

When Skye nails her audition in an internationally televised competition looking for the next big K-Pop star, she’s immediately swept into a whirlwind of countless practices and shocking performances. What she doesn’t count on are the highly fat-phobic beauty standards of the Korean pop entertainment industry, her sudden media fame and scrutiny, or the sparks that soon fly with her fellow competitor, Henry Cho. But Skye has her sights on becoming the world’s first plus-sized K-Pop star, and that means winning the competition without losing herself.

Listen to the official I’ll Be the One playlist!

%d bloggers like this: